Home About EGX History
History

The first attempts to establish the Egyptian Exchange

In 1861, the oldest stock exchange dealing in cotton futures was established in Alexandria. However, the first attempts to establish a stock exchange in Egypt took place in 1890, which was followed by a second attempt in 1898, when the brokers began to form a company that is responsible for the establishment of the stock exchange, determining its appropriate place, in addition to setting rules to organize the exchange’s workflow. Unfortunately, their efforts failed, and their first company went bankrupt within three months of its establishment. However, the brokers continued their transactions in some Cafés or in their own offices. The transactions were not subject to written rules, but were based on traditions and customs agreed upon.

The establishment of the Cairo Stock Exchange in 1903

A company was formed by some high net worth investors and brokers for this purpose, whereby the brokers set up a union and put a law to regulate their affairs similar to the union established by their colleagues in Alexandria in 1902. Then, a stock exchange was established in Cairo in 1904 based on an agreement between the union and the company, and has limited its membership to securities brokers only. Brokers dealing in cotton contracts have established a private union.

Setting the rules governing the stock exchange

The union of securities brokers has set rules to regulate the stock market, including the system of registering brokers in the stock exchange, the criteria for approving and listing securities in the prices' schedules, settling disputes among brokers and examining complaints filed by the investors. Its law was in fact a regulation that governed the stock exchange for seven years until the end of 1910, despite the promulgation of the first law regulating stock exchanges on November 8, 1909. The success of the stock exchange, together with the increase in the number of brokers have encouraged the establishment of a new company on 16 May 1908 containing 64 brokers, which established another premises until it moved on 20 May 1928 to its current premises in Al-Sherifean Street. The premises was established with the funds of a company established by brokers after the expiry of the previous company.

The Establishment of the Alexandria Stock Exchange in Alexandria

Securities brokers were holding their meetings in a Café, until a special partition in the futures exchange was established in 1883, but their dealings during those meeting were not considered part of the stock exchange until 1902 when their union was established and its law came into effect to regulate the transactions. Alexandria Stock Exchange was then the first exchange to be established before the Cairo Stock Exchange.

The Legislative Framework of the Stock Exchange and its Development

Laws and regulations governing the stock exchange were as follows:

a. Decree of November 8, 1909

On 8 November 1909, the decree including the General regulations of the Egyptian stock exchanges was issued, but it came into effect on the first of September 1910, which was considered the beginning of the official license to open these stock exchanges. Laws 23 and 24 were issued, including the proposed legislative amendments to the Civil Trade Act and the Mixed Trade Law. These two laws gave the commodity and securities exchanges in Egypt extensive internal autonomy, thus giving them the necessary flexibility to perform their duties.

Since that date, the stock exchanges operations in Egypt has been based on the following pillars:

1. The new provisions of the Trade Law as per the two laws mentioned above, which included the basic rules regulating exchanges.
2- The general regulations stipulated in these provisions.
3. The internal regulations of each stock exchange.
4- Decisions of the Listing Committee.
5- The prevailing customs in the stock exchange

Under these rules, the Egyptian stock exchanges became official markets that were regulated by decrees, where trading is not valid, unless it took place in accordance with its provisions and conducted by licensed brokers. The abidance of rules and regulations is also monitored by government's delegates.

b. Decree of December 31, 1933

This decree was issued by approving the general regulations of the stock exchanges. The second article included the cancellation of the stock exchange regulations ratified by the decree issued in 1909. This decree is concerned only with dealing in securities exchanges. Other decrees were issued organizing commodities exchanges.

c. Law No. 326 of 1953 regarding Trading of Securities

Law No. 326 of 1953 was subsequently issued, abolishing the decree issued on 31 December 1933. Thus, the stock exchanges started to be regulated by laws instead of amended decrees. This law continued in effect until the stock exchange was reorganized in 1957.
 

d. The General Regulations of Stock Exchanges as per Law No. 161 of 1957

Law No. 161 stipulating the General Regulations of the Stock Exchanges was issued, which has been in force for nearly twenty four years without any essential amendment. It is considered as the best law issued to regulate all stock exchange affairs.
 

e. Capital Market Law No. 95 of 1992

Law No. 95 of 1992 was issued on 22 June 1992, known as the Capital Market Law. This law is currently in force, with its Executive Regulations No. 135/1993 issued on 07/04/1993.
 

f. Presidential Decree No. 51 of 1997

The decision was issued addressing the provisions governing the management of Cairo and Alexandria Stock Exchanges and their financial affairs.
 

g. Law No. 123 of 2008 amending Law No. 95 of 1992

According to the Law, Cairo & Alexandria Stock Exchanges became one entity called “The Egyptian Exchange”.
 

h. Presidential Decree No. 191 of 2009

This law regulates the structure and governance of the Egyptian Exchange, in addition to its financial affairs.

الرئيسية عن البورصة تاريخ البورصة
نشأة وتاريخ البورصة المصرية

 

المحاولات الأولى لإنشاء البورصة

انشئت عام 1861 بالإسكندرية أقدم البورصات المشتغلة بالتعامل الاجل في القطن. ثم بدأت اولى محاولات انشاء بورصة للأوراق المالية في مصر سنة 1890. تلتها محاولة ثانية في عام 1898، حين شرع السماسرة في تكوين شركة تتولى انشاء البورصة وتدبير المكان اللائق لإقامتها، ووضع القواعد الكفيلة بتنظيم العمل فيها. الا ان جهودهم اخفقت، فأفلست شركتهم الاولى في غضون ثلاثة أشهر من تكوينها. واستمر السماسرة في مزاولة عقد الصفقات فيما بينهم في بعض المقاهي او في مكاتبهم الخاصة. ولم تكن المعاملات بينهم خاضعة لقواعد مدونة بل كانت ترتكز على التقاليد والعادات التى يتفقون عليها.

بداية النشأة الفعلية لبورصة القاهرة في عام 1903

تكونت شركة من بعض اصحاب رؤوس الاموال والسماسرة لهذا الغرض. حيث انشا السماسرة نقابة وضعوا لها قانونا ينظم شئونهم على غرار النقابة التى انشاها زملائهم في الاسكندرية سنة 1902. و بالفعل اقيمت بورصة في القاهرة سنة 1904 بالاتفاق بين النقابة و الشركة، و قد قصرت عضويتها على سماسرة الاوراق المالية فقط. اما السماسرة الذين اثروا الاشتغال بعقود القطن فقد أنشأوا لأنفسهم نقابة خاصة.

وضع القواعد المنظمة للبورصة

وضعت نقابة سماسرة الاوراق المالية قواعد لتنظيم شئون المهنة شملت نظام قبول السماسرة في البورصة، شروط قبول الاوراق المالية للتعامل و قيدها في جداول الاسعار، ضبط اصول المعاملات، الفصل فيما يقع بين السماسرة من خلافات و النظر في الشكاوى التى تقدم ضدهم من الجمهور . فكان قانونها بمثابة لائحة ظلت تحكم البورصة لمدة سبع سنوات حتى اواخر سنة 1910 رغم صدور اول قانون لتنظيم البورصات فى 8 نوفمبر 1909. شجع النجاح الذى حققته البورصة ، و ازدياد عدد السماسرة على تكوين شركة جديدة في 16 مايو 1908 تضم 64 سمسارا قامت بإنشاء مقر اخر للبورصة ، الى ان انتقلت في 20 مايو 1928 الى مقرها الحالي بشارع الشريفين . و قد انشئ هذا المقر بأموال شركة من السماسرة تكونت على اثر انقضاء اجل الشركة السابق.

نشأة بورصة الاسكندرية للأوراق المالية في الاسكندرية

كان سماسرة الاوراق المالية يجتمعون في احدى المقاهي، الى ان انشئت لهم مقصورة خاصة في بورصة البضائع الآجلة في سنة 1883 . لكن اجتماعاتهم للتعامل في تلك المقصورة لم ترق الى منزله البورصة الا في سنة 1902 حينما انشئت نقابتهم، و اصبح قانونها هو المنظم للمعاملات. وبهذا كانت بورصة الاسكندرية اسبق في النشأة من بورصة القاهرة.
 

التنظيم التشريعي لبورصة الأوراق المالية وتطوره

تعددت المراسيم و القوانين المنظمة لبورصة الاوراق المالية على النحو التالي:

أ‌- صدور مرسوم 8 نوفمبر سنة 1909

صدر في ذلك التاريخ الأمر العالي المشتمل على اللائحة العامة للبورصات المصرية، غير أنه نص على العمل بها من أول سبتمبر سنة 1910، وهو التاريخ الذي اعتبر بداية الترخيص الرسمي بفتح تلك البورصات.
ثم صدر القانونان رقم 23 و24 المتضمنان ادخال التعديلات التشريعية المقترحة على قانون التجارة الأهلي وقانون التجارة المختلط. وقد أعطى القانونان المشار اليهما لبورصات البضائع والاوراق المالية في مصر استقلالا داخليا واسع النطاق، بما يحقق لها المرونة اللازمة لأداء أعمالها.

ومنذ ذلك التاريخ أصبح نظام البورصات في مصر يقوم على الأركان الاتية:
1- الأحكام الجديدة التى أدخلت على قانون التجارة بموجب القانونين سألفى الذكر والتى اشتملت على القواعد الأساسية المنظمة للبورصات.
2- اللائحة العامة التى نصت عليها تلك الأحكام.
3- اللائحة الداخلية لكل بورصة.
4- قرارات لجنة القيد.
5- العرف السائد في البورصة
وبموجب هذه القواعد أصبحت البورصات المصرية أسواقًا رسمية وتنظم شئونها مراسيم. ولا يعتبر التعامل فيها صحيحًا، إلا إذا تم طبقا لأحكامها و انعقد بواسطة سماسرة معتمدين . كما يقوم على رعاية القانون والنظام فيها مندوبون من قبل الحكومة.

ب‌- مرسوم 31 ديسمبر سنة 1933
صدر هذا المرسوم بالموافقة على اللائحة العامة لبورصات الأوراق المالية ويتضمن في مادته الثانية الغاء لائحة البورصة المصدق عليها بالأمر العالي الصادر عام 1909.  ويتميز هذا المرسوم بأنه يعالج بورصات الاوراق المالية وحدها، حيث صدرت مراسيم أخرى تعالج اوضاع بورصات البضائع.

ج‌- القانون رقم 326 لسنة 1953 في شان التعامل في الاوراق المالية
صدر بعد ذلك القانون رقم 326 لسنة 1953 ملغيا المرسوم الصادر فى 31 ديسمبر سنة 1933. وأصبح تنظيم البورصات يتم بموجب قوانين بعد أن كان التعديل بمراسيم. وقد استمر العمل بهذا القانون إلى أن أعيد تنظيم البورصة فى عام 1957.

د- اللائحة العامة لبورصات الاوراق المالية طبقا للقانون رقم 161 لسنة 1957 
صدر القانون رقم 161 باللائحة العامة لبورصات الاوراق المالية، الذى استمر تطبيقه ما يقرب من أربعة وعشرون عامًا دون تعديل جوهري. ويعد أحسن القوانين التى صدرت لتنظيم كافة شئون البورصة.

و- قانون سوق رأس المال الصادر برقم 95 لسنة 1992
صدر القانون رقم 95/92 بتاريخ 22 يونيو 1992، والمعروف باسم قانون سوق رأس المال. وهو القانون الجاري العمل به حاليًا وقد صدرت لائحته التنفيذية رقم 135/1993 في 07/04/1993.

ز- القرار الجمهوري رقم 51 لسنة 1997
وصدر هذا القرار بالأحكام المنظمة لادارة بورصتي الأوراق المالية بالقاهرة والإسكندرية وشئونهما المالية.

ح‌- القانون 123 لسنة 2008 المعدل للقانون 95 لسنة 1992
وبناءً على هذا القانون أصبحت بورصتي الأوراق المالية بالقاهرة والإسكندرية تحت مسمى واحد وهو البورصة المصرية.

ط- القرار الجمهوري رقم 191 لسنة 2009
صدر بالأحكام المنظمة لادارة البورصة المصرية وشئونها المالية.